CTF, Events

CybOrg would like to congratulate the following players for their outstanding performance in this year’s CTF:

1st Place – Sam Smoker (Senior) w/ 451 points – winner, WIFI PINEAPPLE NANO
2nd Place – Mina Zhou (Senior) w/ 350 points – winner, BASH BUNNY
3rd Place – Ian Bunner (Sophomore)  w/ 100 points – winner, LAN TURTLE
Rookie Award – Ben Rice (Freshman) – winner, USB RUBBER DUCKY

(The Rookie Award is awarded to a first-time player who demonstrates exceptional grit, tenacity and skill throughout the 48-hour CTF.)

Our team finished in the top 85% of schools! Unfortunately, we did not qualify for CSAW finals this year. Our team demonstrated remarkable perseverance in the face of tough challenges and we expect to only improve our standing in the next competition.

Special thanks to Hak5 for helping us to put on this event!

We would also like to thank our CTF mentors: Ashley Kalina, Ashley Nuckols, Jonathan Itzhaky (Crowdstrike), KMAP, and Sean Straw ’17.


1st and 2nd place winners of CSAW CTF at USC, Sam Smoker (left) and Mina Zhou (right)

CSAW Capture The Flag: Preliminary Round

CTF, Events

Image result for csaw ctf 17Photo: NYU

CSAW CTF is the world’s largest student-run cyber security competition, and CybOrg wants you to be a part of it!

If you are interested in participating in CSAW but have not yet applied, please fill out the following short application: deadline to submit your application for CSAW CTF is Wednesday, August 9th at 11:59PM.  

CSAW is an entry-level CTF and registration is open to everyone. The CTF will run from 20:00 UTC on September 15 to 20:00 UTC on September 17, 2017. The top 4 qualifying scorers will be invited to compete for cash prizes at the final on-site competition from November 9-11, 2017.

CSAW is a great opportunity to practice and further develop your cyber security skills and we encourage anyone who has an interest in this field to participate! Previous CTF experience is a bonus but not required.

Here is the link to the application.

CTF Sponsor